On Saturday 16 November 2002 6:18 pm, Douglas Handy wrote:
> Martin et al (and particularly David...),
> >Is anyone else getting spam from Macro Computer Products?
> I have too, but I can't confirm the address was farmed from these
> lists.  I use the same address for everything, which is looking to be a
> mistake.  I may switch to multiple addresses to enable tracking of some
> sources.

Hi Doug

I tried that, but then couldn't always remember just what address I'd used
at what site - particularly annoying if it's needed to log in. I've just
resorted to fairly draconian email filters that are sometimes a bit over
the top, but get the job done ;)

> Suspected farming should always be reported to David privately...

I don't think mining of David's lists is at fault here, given that they've
used several addresses for me and I only post here with this one. Plus
one of the addresses was one I used to register with Search400, but I
stopped using them once I realised they were passing my address to
others, when I'd ticked the box to opt out from list sharing. I guess
maybe they've just aquired such a list and are busy making use of it :(

Regards, Martin
martin@dbg400.net (plain text emails only) http://www.dbg400.net   /"\
DBG/400 - DataBase Generation utilities - AS/400 / iSeries Open    \ /
Source free test environment tools and others (file/spool/misc)     X
Debian GNU/Linux | ASCII Ribbon Campaign against HTML mail & news  / \

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

This thread ...


Follow On AppleNews
Return to Archive home page | Return to MIDRANGE.COM home page

This mailing list archive is Copyright 1997-2021 by midrange.com and David Gibbs as a compilation work. Use of the archive is restricted to research of a business or technical nature. Any other uses are prohibited. Full details are available on our policy page. If you have questions about this, please contact [javascript protected email address].

Operating expenses for this site are earned using the Amazon Associate program and Google Adsense.