Carsten,

Prior to V5R2, changing the value from 1 to 0 REMOVED the data from the
entry. This definitely would not allow a verify :-) The purpose of the
system value was to allow an administrator to disable in one shot these
(and other) "passwords"  (not associated with user profiles)  that may have
been compromised.

When we changed the behavior of the system value in V5R2, all we changed
was that the encrypted data is not removed. We did this becaues we had a
lot of users complain that adding all of them again was too much of a pain.

So, changing the value to 0, still "disables" them, but doesn't remove
them.

Patrick Botz
Senior Technical Staff Member
eServer Security Architect
(507) 253-0917, T/L 553-0917
email: botz@xxxxxxxxxx



As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

This thread ...

Replies:

Follow On AppleNews
Return to Archive home page | Return to MIDRANGE.COM home page

This mailing list archive is Copyright 1997-2022 by midrange.com and David Gibbs as a compilation work. Use of the archive is restricted to research of a business or technical nature. Any other uses are prohibited. Full details are available on our policy page. If you have questions about this, please contact [javascript protected email address].

Operating expenses for this site are earned using the Amazon Associate program and Google Adsense.