On Wed, 21 Jan 2004 Phillip.Watts@xxxxxxxxx wrote:

> >> I am told if our client goes down a session can be left connected
> >> on AS400 so when client comes back up it can't connect.
>
> >Usually you connect but get warned that your messages are being
> >routed to your old session. WRKJOB can fix this.
>
> Warned how?  What is WRKJOB?

When you signon, you will see a screen (the first or second screen,
depending on whether or not you have your user profile configured to
display last signon information) that tells you:

                           Display Program Messages

 Job 481454/JAMES/QPADEV0006 started on 01/21/04 at 11:43:21 in subsystem
QCT
 Message queue JAMES is allocated to another job.

WRKJOB is an OS/400 command that allows you to view various information
about a job - specifically in this case, the job that is your signon
session.

James Rich

"As for security, being lectured by Microsoft is like receiving wise words
on the subject of compassion from Stalin."
      -- mormop on lwn.net

This thread ...

Follow-Ups:
Replies:

Follow On AppleNews
Return to Archive home page | Return to MIDRANGE.COM home page

This mailing list archive is Copyright 1997-2020 by midrange.com and David Gibbs as a compilation work. Use of the archive is restricted to research of a business or technical nature. Any other uses are prohibited. Full details are available on our policy page. If you have questions about this, please contact [javascript protected email address].