Interesting issue.

I had installed Eclipse 3.4.1 some time ago with the hope that I could get an Eclipse shared install for Aptana Studio, MyEclipse, RBD and RDi (yeah, I know, good luck!)

Aptana and MyEclipse were happily co-existing when I went ahead to install RBD, taking the option to use an existing Eclipse installation. A little way into the install, RBD complained about some unresolved link issue with Aptana and couldn't continue but the "Back" button was still available so I clicked "back" a few times and got back to the point where I could choose a "standalone" install of RBD and went ahead and installed it at that point. All was well.

So imagine my surprise this morning when I started up MyEclipse just to find out that RBD was now starting instead. My original MyEclipse/Aptana install was using C:\Eclipse and I had a shortcut on my desktop to C:\eclipse\eclipse.exe to start MyEclipse. That shortcut now launches RBD (which is a bit weird still it was ultimately installed stand alone).

So the questions are:

1. Why, if the installer allows you to go "Back", does it not uninstall whatever it has done up to that point? If it can't do that, why allow the user to go back?
2. Is there a way to uninstall the RBD version that appears to be using C:/eclipse?
3. Any other way to recover short of the well known "Microsoft Method" which is to uninstall everything and reinstall ?

Ideas?

This thread ...


Follow On AppleNews
Return to Archive home page | Return to MIDRANGE.COM home page

This mailing list archive is Copyright 1997-2020 by midrange.com and David Gibbs as a compilation work. Use of the archive is restricted to research of a business or technical nature. Any other uses are prohibited. Full details are available on our policy page. If you have questions about this, please contact [javascript protected email address].