Rob,

I have never consistently seen this work as you describe. I always have
my users change their password within Notes and have Notes update the
Windows password since this works all the time. We are still on Notes
8.5.3 so not sure if this has changed in Notes 9 or not.


Thank you,

Jeremy Grycza
Asst. V.P. of Information Technology
Signature Bank, N.A.
4607 W. Sylvania Ave.
Toledo, OH 43623
(419) 841-7773 phone
(419) 893-2288 fax

********************** E-MAIL CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE
*************************
The information contained in this communication and its attachment (s) is
intended only for the use of the individual to whom it is addressed and
may
contain information that is privileged, confidential, or exempt from
disclosure. If the reader of this message is not the intended recipient,
you
are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution, or copying of
this
communication is prohibited. If you received this communication in error,

please notify jgrycza@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx and delete the communication
without retaining any copies. Thank you.
*******************************************************************************************



From: rob@xxxxxxxxx
To: domino400@xxxxxxxxxxxx
Date: 02/05/2016 09:41 AM
Subject: Client Single log in
Sent by: "Domino400" <domino400-bounces@xxxxxxxxxxxx>



We have this checked in File, Security, User Security: the option "Login
to Notes using your operating system login" is enabled.

I am reading this:
https://www-01.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/SSKTMJ_8.5.3/com.ibm.help.domino.admin85.doc/H_USING_NOTES_SINGLE_LOGON_OVER.html


<snip>
When the user restarts Notes:

- a Notes Single Logon Password Synchronization panel appears;
- the user should click Yes and, as prompted, enter their Notes
password and click OK;
- a Change Password panel then appears, prompting the user to enter the

new password and re-enter the new password for confirmation. In both
password entry fields, the user should enter their Windows system
password, and then click OK.
</snip>

The problem is this: The user gets that everytime they change their
password. For example:
I shutdown all running applications within Windows, including Notes.
I change my Windows password.
I restart Windows.
I start Notes.
I get this snippet above.
I enter my new Windows password into both prompts.

The question is why do I need to enter my new password into both prompts?
Shouldn't the sync have taken care of it?

Rob Berendt

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

This thread ...

Follow-Ups:
Replies:

Follow On AppleNews
Return to Archive home page | Return to MIDRANGE.COM home page

This mailing list archive is Copyright 1997-2021 by midrange.com and David Gibbs as a compilation work. Use of the archive is restricted to research of a business or technical nature. Any other uses are prohibited. Full details are available on our policy page. If you have questions about this, please contact [javascript protected email address].

Operating expenses for this site are earned using the Amazon Associate program and Google Adsense.