On Thu 05-May-2011 08:57 , John Erim(MFS) wrote:
Is there a way to use the command w/o having the break message appear
on the session you want to copy?


The response I had from design architects years ago was that the STRCPYSCN feature of the OS was written to be purposefully intrusive for those who might be affected by the request, so as to be warned of the copy activity, in order to avoid the OS enabling any subversive utilization.

The restriction\requirement is quite clear in the command help text:

Restrictions:

o Permission must be given from the user of the source work
station.

o When a request is made to begin display image copying,
a break message is sent to the user of the source work
station to inform the user that the displays are going
to be copied. The user must reply to this message before
any displays are copied.

I recall there have been other similar utilities [not provided in\by the OS] for which effectively the same results can be had [and IIRC also without being one screen behind], but without the intrusion by a break or inquiry message; with the obvious caveat that someone might then be able to use that utility to "see" what they should not see, unbeknown activity to the user whose screens are being copied. I did not search, but my guess would be that a web search of the following might assist to locate: STRCPYSCN alternative

Regards, Chuck

This thread ...

Follow-Ups:
Replies:

Follow On AppleNews
Return to Archive home page | Return to MIDRANGE.COM home page

This mailing list archive is Copyright 1997-2019 by midrange.com and David Gibbs as a compilation work. Use of the archive is restricted to research of a business or technical nature. Any other uses are prohibited. Full details are available on our policy page. If you have questions about this, please contact [javascript protected email address].