This depends on you system values for the Disconnect Activity Timer (QDSCJOBITV) and the Device Recovery Action (QDEVRCYACN) values. By default QDEVRCYACN is set to '*DSCMSG', a disconnect message is sent to the user's app. Try using either '*MSG' or '*DSCMSG' which works best in your environment. The Disconnect Activity timer defaults to '240' in minutes. The session must use a static workstation name i.e., MIS001, PAY001, etc. QPADEV* type devices will do an End Job. You can view what jobs get disconnected by looking in your history logs for the message id of CPF5140.


If you reconnect with in the Activity timer, the job will be reconnected and your job needs to be evaluated for recovery . In my past and current environment, when I reconnect, I lose nothing.

Good luck...

StefonMc

Jack J. Woehr wrote:



I am told if our client goes down a session can be left connected
on AS400 so when client comes back up it can't connect.



Usually you connect but get warned that your messages are being routed to your old session. WRKJOB can fix this.




This thread ...


Follow On AppleNews
Return to Archive home page | Return to MIDRANGE.COM home page

This mailing list archive is Copyright 1997-2020 by midrange.com and David Gibbs as a compilation work. Use of the archive is restricted to research of a business or technical nature. Any other uses are prohibited. Full details are available on our policy page. If you have questions about this, please contact [javascript protected email address].